Home / News / Canadian Para-Dressage Riders Compete in the Individual Test at the 2010 Alltech FEI WEG

Para-Equestrian

Canadian Para-Dressage Riders Compete in the Individual Test at the 2010 Alltech FEI WEG | Print |
Eleonore Elstone - Photo: Robin Duncan Photography, www.robinduncanphotography.ca October 6, 2010 — Canadian Grade 4 Para-Dressage riders competed in the Individual Championship test on October 6 at the 2010 Alltech FEI World Equestrian Games (WEG) held in Lexington, KY, taking place October 5–9, 2010.

Eleonore Elstone of Langley, BC, was the first in for Canada riding Why Not G, a seven-year-old Dutch Warmblood gelding owned by Elstone and Kelleigh Kulscar. The pair performed a very impressive test highlighted by excellent lateral work at the trot and canter. Elstone and Why Not G scored 64.903% for eighth place in the Grade 4 Individual Championship test.
Eleonore Elstone - Photo: Robin Duncan Photography, www.robinduncanphotography.ca
“I really liked today’s ride,” said Elstone. “Why Not G really wanted to be in the ring with me today and be my partner. It was really wonderful to ride him. In preparation of Sunday’s Freestyle, I am going to school exactly as I did today.”

Competing as an Individual for Canada, Madison Lawson of Bonfield, ON made her debut at the World Championship level of competition with her horse McGuire, a 13-year-old Canadian Sport Horse gelding. They earned a score of 61.419% for 15th place.

“I am really proud to be here. It feels amazing, and it is an honour to ride for Canada,” said Lawson.  “We have a lot to work on, but I am only 16-years-old, so I have a lot more to learn. McGuire was really good, and I am really pleased with him. I am going to work on my lateral work to get it more rhythmic leading up to my Freestyle.”

“Eleonore is a little bit disappointed in the scores she received today. We all thought that she had a better ride today than yesterday,” said Elizabeth Quigg-Robinson, chef d’équipe of the Canadian Para-Dressage Team. “Madison did an excellent job for her first major games. She really put it together and stayed very cool in the ring. Madison and her horse are a nice combination and I think they have a great future together.”
Madison Lawson - Photo: Robin Duncan Photography, www.robinduncanphotography.ca
The Para-Dressage Team competition continues on October 7th when Lauren Barwick of Aldergrove, BC and her horse Maile and Jennifer McKenzie of Maple Ridge, BC, and Sunbury Lodge Voodoo will ride their Individual Championship Test. The combined scores from the Team Test and the Individual Championship Test will determine the Team medals.

Canadian riders competing as individuals—Sharon Buffitt of Pointe-Claire, QC, and Tara Kowalski of Chilliwack, BC—will also compete with all the team members in the second day of Individual Championship Tests on October 7 and the Freestyle Test on October 8th and 9th.

Complete details about WEG Para-Dressage maybe found at www.alltechfeigames.com.

 
About Para-Equestrian Canada

Para-Equestrian Canada is the Equine Canada committee responsible for developing programs for athletes with a physical disability, and implementing the Para-Dressage high performance program. Para-Equestrian is one of Canada’s most successful international disciplines, achieving an individual gold medal and an individual silver medal at the 2008 Paralympic Games, as well as two individual bronze medals at the 2004 Paralympic Games.

About Para-Equestrian Sport

Para-Equestrian sport provides riders with a physical disability the opportunity to compete against other riders with similar abilities. Riders are given a “Grade” based on their functional ability, and are judged on their riding skill against other athletes of the same Grade.  There are five grades of competitions in dressage, with Grade 1A representing the more severely impaired riders, and Grade 4 representing the least severely impaired riders. Many Para-Equestrian athletes also compete alongside able-bodied competitors in Equine Canada competitions. At the grass roots level, Para-Equestrian encompasses a number of different disciplines, while the international stream focuses only on Para-Dressage.  For more information, please visit www.equinecanada.ca/para-equestrian.

About Equine Canada

Equine Canada is Canada’s national governing body for equestrianism.  A member-driven, charitable institution, it is the executive branch of the Canadian Equestrian Team, and the national authority for equestrian competition; the national voice for recreational riders; and the national association for equine welfare, breeding, and industry.  Equine Canada is recognised by the Government of Canada, the International Equestrian Federation (FEI), and the Canadian Olympic Committee as the national organisation representing equestrian sport and equine interests. For more information about Equine Canada, please visit www.equinecanada.ca

Accueil / Nouvelles / Les cavalières canadiennes de para-dressage participent à l’épreuve de championnat en individuel

Para-Équestre

Les cavalières canadiennes de para-dressage participent à l’épreuve de championnat en individuel | Imprimer |
Eleonore Elstone - Photo: Robin Duncan Photography, www.robinduncanphotography.ca Le 6 octobre 2010 – Les cavalières canadiennes de para-dressage, catégorie 4, ont participé à la reprise de championnat en individuel aujourd’hui, présenté dans le cadre d’une compétition de para-dressage qui se déroule du 5 au 9 octobre à Lexington, au Kentucky, lors des Jeux équestres mondiaux FEI Alltech de 2010.

Eleonore Elstone (Langley, C.-B.) a été la première à faire son entrée en piste pour le Canada sur Why Not G. Le couple a exécuté une excellente reprise comportant de très beaux mouvements latéraux au trot et au galop, reprise qui leur a valu 64,903 % ainsi que la huitième place au  championnat individuel de catégorie 4. Why Not G est un warmblood hollandais de sept ans qui appartient à la cavalière ainsi qu’à Kelleigh Kulscar.
Eleonore Elstone - Photo: Robin Duncan Photography, www.robinduncanphotography.ca
« J’ai beaucoup aimé ma reprise, a-t-elle mentionné. Why Not G était très heureux d’être dans la carrière avec moi et ce fut un véritable plaisir de le monter. En préparation pour la reprise libre de dimanche, je vais faire exactement la même pratique. »

Madison Lawson (Bonfield, ON), qui participe en individuel pour le Canada, faisait ses débuts au niveau d’un championnat mondial sur McGuire, son cheval de sport canadien de 13 ans. Ils se sont mérité 61,419 % ainsi que la 15e place.

« Je suis très fière d’être ici, a dit Lawson. C’est une sensation extraordinaire et un honneur de monter pour le Canada. Nous devons travailler à nous perfectionner, mais je n’ai que 16 ans, alors j’ai beaucoup à apprendre. McGuire était à l’écoute et je suis très satisfaite de lui. Je vais me concentrer sur le travail latéral afin d’acquérir plus de rythme avant d’exécuter ma reprise libre. »

« Eleonore est un petit peu déçue de la note qu’on lui a attribuée aujourd’hui. Nous sommes tous d’avis que son travail est supérieur à celui d’hier », a déclaré Elizabeth Quigg-Robinson, qui est chef de l’équipe canadienne para-équestre. « Madison se tire très bien d’affaire à ses premiers jeux majeurs. Elle est demeurée très calme et a signé une belle prestation. Elle forme avec son cheval un bien joli couple et je pense qu’ils ont un bel avenir ensemble. »
Madison Lawson - Photo: Robin Duncan Photography, www.robinduncanphotography.ca
La compétition de para-dressage en équipe se poursuit le 7.  Lauren Barwick (Aldergrove, C.-B.) et sa jument Maile, de même que Jennifer McKenzie (Maple Ridge, C.-B.) et Sunbury Lodge Voodoo,  exécuteront leur reprise de championnat en individuel. Les notes obtenues dans la reprise par équipe et celle du championnat en individuel seront additionnées pour l’attribution des  médailles aux équipes.

Les cavalières suivantes participent en individuel : Sharon Buffitt (Pointe-Claire, QC), Tara Kowalski (Chilliwack, C.-B.) et Madison Lawson (Bonfield, ON). Elles seront en piste le 7, avec toutes les membres de l’équipe au deuxième jour du championnat en individuel,  et les 8 et 9, pour la présentation des reprises libres.

Veuillez consulter le www.alltechfeigames.com pour tous les détails sur la compétition de para-dressage des JEM.


À propos de Para-équestre Canada

Para-équestre Canada est le comité de Canada Hippique chargé d’élaborer des programmes pour athlètes avec une incapacité physique, et de mettre en œuvre le programme de  haute performance du  para-dressage. Au Canada, la discipline para-équestre est l’une des plus couronnées de succès sur la scène internationale. Les athlètes ont ramené au pays une médaille d’or en individuel et une d’argent en individuel à l’occasion des Jeux paralympiques de 2008. Ils ont aussi remporté deux médailles de bronze en individuel lors des Jeux paralympiques de 2004.

À propos du sport para-équestre

Le sport para-équestre donne aux cavaliers avec une incapacité physique la possibilité de se mesurer à  d’autres cavaliers possédant des aptitudes similaires. On attribue une « catégorie » aux cavaliers selon leurs capacités motrices et l’évaluation en concours repose sur leurs habiletés équestres face à d’autres athlètes de la même catégorie. Les épreuves de dressage s’adressent aux athlètes de cinq catégories, la 1A étant réservée aux cavaliers les plus atteints et la catégorie 4, à ceux qui le sont moins. Plusieurs athlètes para-équestres participent également aux côtés de cavaliers valides lors des compétitions de Canada Hippique. En para-équestre de base, diverses disciplines sont offertes, tandis que sur la scène internationale, seul le para-dressage est présenté. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter www.equinecanada.ca/para-equestrian.

À propos de Canada Hippique

Canada Hippique est l’organisme national chapeautant l’hippisme. Institution caritative axée sur le service aux membres, Canada Hippique est la division administrative de l’Équipe équestre canadienne faisant autorité en concours hippique national. Elle est la voix nationale des cavaliers de loisir, l’association nationale représentant le bien-être du cheval, l’élevage et l’industrie. Canada Hippique est reconnue auprès du gouvernement du Canada, de la Fédération équestre internationale et du Comité olympique canadien en tant qu’organisme représentant les sports équestres et les intérêts équins.  Pour plus de renseignements sur Canada Hippique, veuillez visiter le www.equinecanada.ca.