Home / News / Para-Equestrian Canada Launches Search for Development Coach

Para-Equestrian

Para-Equestrian Canada Launches Search for Development Coach | Print |
August 24, 2009 — Para-Equestrian Canada has launched a search for an Ontario-based regional development coach.
 
The ideal candidate would be a qualified dressage coach and rider, possessing knowledge of or experience with riders with disabilities. The selected individual will fill an important role within the organization by transitioning athletes to higher levels of competition, both nationally and abroad.

“Our development coaches assess athletes who demonstrate an interest in Para-Dressage,” said Elizabeth Robinson, chair of the Para-Equestrian Canada High Performance Committee. “They identify and train future team members — and in this way contribute to the integrity of the sport within Canada.”

Para-Dressage already has a strong national development program, as demonstrated by impressive international standings in the last several years.

The regional development coach will operate with the instruction of the national team coach, as well as under the leadership of the organization’s Para-Equestrian High Performance Committee.

Para-Equestrian Canada will accept applications for this position up to September 15, 2009. They can be sent to the attention of Amie O’Shaughnessy, Manager Para-Equestrian at the Equine Canada office 308 Legget Dr., Suite 100, Ottawa, ON, K2K 1Y6, Fax: 613-248-3484 or e-mail This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .

 
About the Para-Equestrian Discipline

In para-equestrian, each rider is classified according to his or her functional ability. They are assessed by trained physiotherapists and doctors who evaluate either muscle strength, coordination, or a combination thereof throughout the athlete’s body. The rider is then given a functional profile that indicates the grade in which they can compete. There are five grades of competitions in dressage, with Grade IA representing the more severely impaired riders, and Grade IV representing the least severely impaired riders. The competition within each grade is judged on the functional skill of the rider, and not the level of disability.

About Para-Equestrian Canada

Para-Equestrian Canada is the discipline committee of Equine Canada that is responsible for developing and implementing programs on behalf of the para-equestrian community and administrating the high performance program for dressage riders with a disability. For additional information regarding Para-Equestrian Canada please visit www.equinecanada.ca/para-equestrian.

About Equine Canada

Equine Canada is Canada’s national governing body for equestrianism.  A member-driven, charitable institution, it is the executive branch of the Canadian Equestrian Team, and the national authority for equestrian competition; the national voice for recreational riders; and the national association for equine welfare, breeding, and industry.  Equine Canada is recognized by the Government of Canada, the International Equestrian Federation (FEI), and the Canadian Olympic Committee as the national organization representing equestrian sport and equine interests. For more information about Equine Canada, please visit www.equinecanada.ca.

Accueil / Nouvelles / Para-équestre Canada à la recherche d’un entraîneur guidant le développement des athlètes

Para-Équestre

Para-équestre Canada à la recherche d’un entraîneur guidant le développement des athlètes | Imprimer |
Le 24 août 2009 – Para-équestre Canada recherche un entraîneur guidant le développement des athlètes pour la région de l’Ontario.
 
Le candidat idéal sera un entraîneur et cavalier qualifié en dressage, possédant des connaissances ou de l’expérience avec les cavaliers handicapés. La personne retenue jouera un rôle crucial au sein de l’organisation en favorisant la transition des athlètes vers les plus hauts niveaux de compétition, à la fois sur les plans national et international.

« Nos entraîneurs guidant le développement évaluent les athlètes qui expriment un intérêt pour le para-dressage », mentionne Elizabeth Robinson, présidente du comité haute performance de Para-équestre Canada. Ils identifient et entraînent les futurs membres d’équipe et, ainsi, contribuent à l’intégrité de notre sport au Canada. »
Para-dressage offre déjà un programme national de développement solide, tel que démontré par le classement international impressionnant des dernières années.

L’entraîneur régional guidant le développement des athlètes exercera ses fonctions selon les instructions de l’entraîneur de l’équipe nationale, ainsi que sous le leadership du comité haute performance para-équestre de l’organisation.

Para-équestre Canada recevra les mises en candidature pour ce poste jusqu’au 15 septembre 2009.  Celles-ci pourront être transmises à l’attention d’Amie O’Shaughnessy, directrice du para-équestre, au bureau de Canada Hippique situé au 308 Legget Drive, bureau 100, Ottawa, ON, K2K 1Y6, ou par télécopieur au 613-248-3484, ou par courriel à Cette adresse email est protégée contre les robots des spammeurs, vous devez activer Javascript pour la voir. .


À propos de la discipline para-équestre

Dans le sport para-équestre, on classifie les cavaliers selon leurs capacités motrices. Ils sont examinés par des physiothérapeutes et des médecins qui évalueront leur force musculaire, leur coordination ou une combinaison de ces deux fonctions de leur corps. À l’aide du profil fonctionnel de l’athlète qu’ils auront tracé, ce dernier pourra prendre part à l’une des cinq catégories de dressage présentées en compétition, la catégorie IA étant réservée aux cavaliers les plus sévèrement atteints et la catégorie IV, à ceux qui le sont moins. La compétition à l’intérieur de chaque catégorie est jugée selon la capacité motrice du cavalier et non pas d’après son niveau d’incapacité.

À propos de Para-équestre Canada

Para-équestre Canada est une discipline et un comité de Canada Hippique responsable d’élaborer et de mettre sur pied des programmes pour le milieu para-équestre. Ce comité gère le programme de haute performance destiné aux cavaliers de dressage avec une incapacité. Pour de plus amples renseignements à propos de Para-équestre Canada, veuillez consulter le site www.equinecanada.ca/para-equestrian.

À propos de Canada Hippique

Canada Hippique est l’organisme national chapeautant l’hippisme. Institution caritative axée sur le service aux membres, Canada Hippique est la division administrative de l’Équipe équestre canadienne faisant autorité en concours hippique national. Elle est la voix nationale des cavaliers de loisir, l’association nationale représentant le bien-être du cheval, l’élevage et l’industrie. Canada Hippique est reconnue auprès du gouvernement du Canada, de la Fédération équestre internationale et du Comité olympique canadien en tant qu’organisme représentant les sports équestres et les intérêts équins.  Pour plus de renseignements sur Canada Hippique, veuillez visiter le www.equinecanada.ca.