Home / News / Import Restrictions Announced for Horses from New Mexico Entering Canada

Industry

Import Restrictions Announced for Horses from New Mexico Entering Canada | Print |
January 8, 2010 — The Breeds & Industry Division of Equine Canada would like to inform all stakeholders that due to the outbreak of equine piroplasmosis in the state of New Mexico, the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) is implementing the following import restrictions effective January 11, 2010:

A) For horses from New Mexico for all end-uses (including Canadian horses returning to Canada) the following import conditions will be required:

Import permit; and
Additional US certification stating:
The horse(s) were inspected by a veterinarian within fifteen (15) days preceding the date of importation;
The horses were inspected for ticks and treated for ticks, if necessary, at the time of the inspection;
The horse(s) have not been on a premises where equine piroplasmosis (clinical or serology) has occurred  during the 60 days immediately preceding exportation to Canada, nor has this disease occurred on any adjoining premises during the same period of time; and
They must have tested negative to Equine piroplasmosis using a cELISA test, during the fifteen (15) days prior to the date of importation into Canada.
B) For horses for all end-uses from other states the following requirement applies:

"During the previous twenty-one (21) days, the animal(s) in this shipment has/have not been in the state of New Mexico or Texas"
 
The CFIA has confirmed that the import restriction only applies to live horse, donkey or mule imports and not to equine semen or equine embryo imports.

Current import requirements for horses entering Canada may be found using the CFIA Automated Import Reference System (AIRS) at http://airs-sari.inspection.gc.ca. To determine specific import requirements for each horse, specific parameters that refer to each horse’s circumstances will need to be entered and customized import requirements will be provided.

Equine piroplasmosis (EP) is caused by two parasitic organisms, Babesia equi and Babesia caballi. It is primarily transmitted to equidae by ticks but this bloodborne disease can be spread mechanically from animal to animal by contaminated needles or surgical instruments.

Once infected, an equine can take 7 to 22 days to show signs of illness. Mild forms of the disease cause equines to appear weak and show lack of appetite. More acute cases can occur where EP is not common and the animals have not built up a resistance to the disease. Signs of the acute phase include fever, anemia, jaundiced mucous membranes, a swollen abdomen, laboured breathing, central nervous system disturbances, roughened-hair coats, constipation, colic, and hemoglobinuria—a condition which gives urine a red color. In some cases, death may occur. Equidae that survive the acute phase of infection may continue to carry the parasites for long periods of time. These animals are potential sources of infection to others through tick-borne transmission or mechanical transfer by needles or surgical instruments.

EP is not endemic to the United States or Canada and some other countries but it is present in the Caribbean, South and Central America, Eastern and Southern Europe, Africa and the Middle East.  The greatest risk for introduction of this disease is through the trading of animals or international equestrian sports where infected and non-infected animals are in contact. If an outbreak of EP occurs in a country such as the USA, the World Organization for Animal Health (OIE) must be notified and made aware of the steps that will be taken to eradicate the disease. (Source: USDA)

 
About Equine Canada Breeds & Industry Division

Equine Canada Breeds & Industry Division provides a structure for the more than 40 breed organizations operating in Canada to unite as a coalition under the national federation of Equine Canada. It provides a forum from which to seek and exchange information between Equine Canada, Canadian stakeholders, the Government of Canada and foreign entities. The Breeds & Industry Division works to promote and assist a vibrant equine industry and to affect policy in Canada. Breed organizations and industry partners share resources and expertise with unity of purpose to increase the long-term profitability of Canada's equine sector and ensure its future viability. Visit equinecanada.ca for complete information about the Equine Canada Breeds & Industry Division.

About Equine Canada

Equine Canada is Canada’s national governing body for equestrianism.  A member-driven, charitable institution, it is the executive branch of the Canadian Equestrian Team, and the national authority for equestrian competition; the national voice for recreational riders; and the national association for equine welfare, breeding, and industry.  Equine Canada is recognized by the Government of Canada, the International Equestrian Federation (FEI), and the Canadian Olympic Committee as the national organization representing equestrian sport and equine interests. For more information about Equine Canada, please visit equinecanada.ca.

Accueil / Nouvelles / Le Canada impose des restrictions sur l’importation de chevaux du Nouveau-Mexique

Industrie

Le Canada impose des restrictions sur l’importation de chevaux du Nouveau-Mexique | Imprimer |
Le 8 janvier 2010 — La division Races et Industrie de Canada Hippique souhaite informer tous les intervenants du milieu qu’en raison d’une épizootie de piroplasmose équine sévissant dans l’État du Nouveau-Mexique, l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments (ACIA) impose les restrictions d’importation suivantes à compter du 11 janvier 2010 :

A)    Pour les chevaux en provenance du Nouveau-Mexique pour utilisation finale, y compris les chevaux du Canada revenant au pays, les conditions suivantes s’appliquent  :

1.    Délivrance d’un permis d’importation et
2.    Certification additionnelle des USA à l’effet que :
-    les chevaux ont été examinés par un vétérinaire dans les quinze (15) jours précédant la date de l’importation;
-    les chevaux sont exempts de tiques et ont été traités pour les tiques si nécessaire au moment de l’examen;
-    les chevaux n’ont pas séjourné dans un lieu où la piroplasmose équine (clinique ou sérologique) a sévi au cours des soixante (60) jours précédant immédiatement l’exportation au Canada. De plus, cette maladie ne s’est pas déclarée dans un lieu à proximité durant la même période de temps;
-    Les chevaux ont montré un résultat négatif au test cELISA pour la piroplasmose équine, au cours des quinze (15) jours précédant la date de leur importation au Canada.

B)    Pour les chevaux pour utilisation finale en provenance d’autres états, les exigences suivantes doivent être respectées :

- « Au cours des vingt et un (21)  derniers jours, l’animal (les animaux) faisant partie de ce lot d’expédition n’a pas (n’ont pas) séjourné au Texas ou au Nouveau-Mexique. ».

L’ACIA a confirmé que les restrictions d’importation s’appliquent uniquement aux animaux vivants (chevaux, ânes et mules) et non pas à l’importation de semence ou d’embryons équins.

Pour prendre connaissance des exigences actuelles s’appliquant à l’entrée des chevaux au Canada, veuillez utiliser le système automatisé de référence à l’importation (SARI)  qui se trouve sur le  site http://airs-sari.inspection.gc.ca.  Pour connaître les exigences d’importation touchant un cheval en particulier, indiquez chaque élément définissant la situation de ce cheval, et de l’information personnalisée vous sera transmise.

La piroplasmose équine (PE) est causée par deux organismes parasites (Babesia equi et Babesia caballi). Elle est principalement transmise aux équidés par les tiques mais cette maladie à diffusion hématogène peut se transmettre également d’un animal à un autre par des aiguilles et instruments chirurgicaux contaminés.

Une fois infecté, il s’écoulera de 7 à 22 jours avant que l’animal montre des signes de maladie. La forme bénigne de la maladie se manifeste chez le cheval par de la faiblesse et un manque d’appétit. On retrouve des cas plus graves dans les régions où la PE n’est pas fréquente car les animaux n’ont pas acquis la capacité de résister à la maladie.  Parmi les signes indiquant la présence de la forme aiguë chez un animal, mentionnons fièvre, anémie, ictère des muqueuses, abdomen gonflé, respiration laborieuse, troubles du système nerveux central, poil rugueux, constipation, coliques et hémoglobinurie – une condition qui donne à l’urine une couleur rougeâtre. Il arrive qu’un cheval en phase aiguë en meure. Ceux qui survivent à l’infection peuvent demeurer porteurs des parasites pendant très longtemps. Ces animaux sont une source probable d’infection pour leurs congénères par les tiques ou les aiguilles et instruments chirurgicaux qui agissent comme vecteurs.

La PE n’est pas endémique aux États-Unis, au Canada, ou dans certains autres pays, mais elle est présente dans les Caraïbes, en Amérique Centrale, en Amérique du Sud, dans les pays de l’est et du sud de l’Europe, en Afrique, ainsi qu’au Moyen-Orient. Le commerce d’animaux présente un grand risque d’introduction de cette maladie, de même que la pratique des sports équestres sur la scène internationale où des animaux infectés et non infectés se côtoient. Si une épizootie de PE sévissait dans un pays comme les États-Unis, il deviendrait nécessaire d’en informer l’Organisation mondiale de la santé animale (OIE)  et de lui communiquer les mesures qui ont été entreprises pour éradiquer la maladie. (Source : USDA) 
 
À propos de la division Races et Industrie de Canada Hippique

La division Races et Industrie de Canada Hippique procure une structure aux membres de plus de 40 associations de races exerçant leurs activités au Canada. Cette coalition de forces agissant sous l'égide de la fédération nationale Canada Hippique forme une tribune propice aux échanges d'informations entre Canada Hippique, les intervenants du milieu canadien, le gouvernement du Canada  et d'autres instances étrangères. La division Races et Industrie travaille à promouvoir  l’industrie canadienne du cheval et elle l’aide à conserver son dynamisme, tout en  appliquant des politiques au Canada. Les organismes de races et les partenaires de l'industrie échangent des ressources et des connaissances dans la même optique, qui est celle de stimuler la rentabilité à long terme du secteur canadien du cheval et de veiller à ce qu'il demeure viable. Visitez le equinecanada.ca pour obtenir un complément d'information sur la division Races et Industrie de Canada Hippique.
 
À propos de Canada Hippique

Canada Hippique est l’organisme national chapeautant l’hippisme. Institution caritative axée sur le service aux membres, Canada Hippique est la division administrative de l’Équipe équestre canadienne faisant autorité en concours hippique national. Elle est la voix nationale des cavaliers de loisir, l’association nationale représentant le bien-être du cheval, l’élevage et l’industrie. Canada Hippique est reconnue auprès du gouvernement du Canada, de la Fédération équestre internationale et du Comité olympique canadien en tant qu’organisme représentant les sports équestres et les intérêts équins.  Pour plus de renseignements sur Canada Hippique, veuillez visiter le equinecanada.ca.