Home / News / Feds Invests $409,000 in Support of Breeds & Industry Work

Industry

Feds Invests $409,000 in Support of Breeds & Industry Work | Print |

 June 9, 2007 --- Member of Parliament for Calgary Centre, Mr. Lee Richardson, announced today on behalf of the Honourable Chuck Strahl, Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food and Minister for the Canadian Wheat Board, that the federal government will invest $409,000 this year in support of the ongoing international market development work of Equine Canada’s Breeds & Industry Division. 

"Canadian-bred horses are ‘hardy stock’ - they are bred and raised in an agricultural environment, under Canada’s stringent animal health regulations,” said Mr. Richardson.  “Canada’s experienced horsemen, as well as our skills and knowledge in herd and health management speaks to the high standards of our industry.  We produce some of the finest horses in the world, and Canada’s New Government is proud to help Equine Canada develop the brand and get the word out there.”

The announcement was made during a National Horse Week networking breakfast hosted by the Breeds & Industry Division at Spruce Meadows, in Calgary, Alberta.

“The partnership of industry and government to advance Canada’s  equine sector as a producer of world-class horses is critical to the long-term success of our value-added agriculture industry,” said Equine Canada President Al Patterson. “On behalf of the Breeds & Industry Division of Equine Canada and its members, I wish to thank the Government of Canada for this funding which the equine industry will match dollar for dollar for a total budget of more than $800,000.” 

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada is providing funding through its Agriculture and Food International (CAFI) program. The goal is for Canada to gain international recognition as a world leader in supplying high quality, safe and innovative products produced in an environmentally responsible and sustainable manner. Opportunities are maximized by supporting industry action to improve market access, build Canada’s reputation, ensure an understanding of the changing demands of the global marketplace, align domestic development to meet these global market demands, and support international development.

The funding invested by the federal government will be used in 47 projects spearheaded by 13 member breed associations participating in the Equine Canada Export Market Development Strategy in 2007-2008 which aims to “brand Canada” as a quality producer of horses suitable for racing, FEI and non-FEI sport, breed specific competition, recreation and breeding. Projects include the development of generic promotional materials for distribution outside of Canada, attendance at international trade shows and meetings, training in export preparedness, and the hosting of foreign delegates coming to Canada to view Canadian-bred stock. The target markets include Australia, Brazil, Chile, the Caribbean, France, New Zealand, United Kingdom, United Arab Emirates, and the United States. 

 “Canada’s equine producers are committed to excellence,” said Kim Berlie, Equine Canada Director and Breeds & Industry Council member. “The Canadian Agriculture and Food International (CAFI) program is a crucial component in securing opportunities in the highly competitive international marketplace for our producers,” she added. 

The Breeds & Industry Division of Equine Canada is the national “coalition” of equine breed associations and industry members. It provides a forum for members to seek and exchange information between Equine Canada, Canadian stakeholders, the Government of Canada and foreign entities, and it helps to affect policy in the areas of equine health and industry developments with the purpose of increasing the long-term profitability of Canada’s equine sector. 

Equine Canada is a member-based non-profit association that represents, promotes and services Canada’s equine community and industry. Its core areas of activity involve sport, equine health and welfare, education and safety, governance and marketing, representation and communication. Equine Canada is recognized by Sport Canada, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, the International Equestrian Federation (FEI), the Canadian Olympic Committee and Canadian Coaching Association of Canada as the national organization representing equestrian sport and equine interests in Canada. Visit equinecanada.ca.

For more information, contact Susan Stewart, Equine Canada Breeds & Industry Division Coordinator, Export Market Development, Tel: (613) 826-1155, Cell: (613) 286-9394, email: sstewart@equinecanada.caThis email address is being protected from spam bots, you need Javascript enabled to view it .

– 30 –

PHOTO
From left to right – Al Patterson, MP Mr. Lee Richardson, Kim Berlie, Lisa Carlsen, Lance Griffin, Susan Stewart
Photo Credit – Cansport

Accueil / Nouvelles / Le gouvernement fédéral investira 409 000 $ en appui de la division Races et Industrie

Industrie

Le gouvernement fédéral investira 409 000 $ en appui de la division Races et Industrie | Imprimer |

 Le 9 juin 2007 --- M. Lee Richardson, député de Calgary-Centre, a annoncé aujourd’hui, au nom de l’Honorable Chuck Strahl, ministre de l’Agriculture et de l’Agroalimentaire et ministre de la Commission canadienne du blé, que le  cette année en appui au travail continu de développement du marché international de la division Races et Industrie de Canada Hippique.

« Les chevaux d'élevage canadiens sont des animaux rustiques qui sont élevés en milieu agricole conformément à la réglementation canadienne rigoureuse en matière de santé animale, a souligné M. Richardson. L'expérience des membres de la profession équestre du Canada ainsi que nos compétences et connaissances en conduite d'élevage et en gestion sanitaire témoignent des normes élevées de notre industrie. Les chevaux que nous élevons comptent parmi les plus renommés au monde, et le nouveau gouvernement du Canada est heureux d'aider Canada Hippique à développer cette image et à en faire la promotion. »

Cette annonce a été faite lors du petit-déjeuner causerie sur le maillage réseau tenu dans le cadre de la Semaine nationale du cheval, et organisé par la division Races et Industrie , Calgary, Alberta.

« Le partenariat entre l’industrie et le gouvernement visant à promouvoir le secteur équestre du Canada en tant que producteur de chevaux de classe internationale est indispensable au succès à long terme de notre secteur agricole à valeur ajoutée », affirme le président de Canada Hippique, Al Patterson. « Au nom de la division Races et Industrie de Canada Hippique et de ses membres, je désire remercier le gouvernement du Canada pour ce financement. L’industrie équestre versera une somme égale à ce financement, ce qui donnera un budget total de plus de 800 000 $ ».

Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada offre un financement par le biais de son Programme international du Canada pour l’agriculture et l’alimentation (PICAA), le but étant pour le Canada d’acquérir une reconnaissance internationale en tant que chef de file mondial pour ce qui est de fournir des produits de première qualité, sécuritaires et innovateurs, produits dans le respect de l’environnement et de manière durable. Les possibilités sont optimisées par les  mesures prises par l’industrie visant à améliorer l’accès aux marchés, bâtir la réputation du Canada, percevoir les demandes changeantes des marchés mondiaux, aligner le développement domestique sur ces demandes et soutenir le développement international.

L’investissement du gouvernement fédéral sera utilisé pour 47 projets menés par 13 associations de race membres participant à la Stratégie de développement du marché d’exportation de Canada Hippique en 2007-2008, laquelle vise à promouvoir l’image de marque du Canada en tant que producteur de qualité de chevaux convenant à la course, aux sports de la FEI et autres que de la FEI, aux compétitions de races précises, aux loisirs et à l’élevage. Les projets incluent la conception de matériel promotionnel général destiné à la distribution à l’extérieur du Canada, la participation aux foires commerciales et rencontres internationales, les cours de préparation à l’exportation et l’accueil des délégués étrangers en visite au Canada pour voir les chevaux élevés au Canada. Les marchés cibles comprennent l’Australie, le Brésil, le Chili, les Caraïbes, la France, la Nouvelle-Zélande, le Royaume-Uni, les Émirats Arabes Unis et les États-Unis.

« Les producteurs de chevaux du Canada visent l’excellence », mentionne Kim Berlie, administratrice de Canada Hippique et membre du conseil Races et Industrie. Elle ajoute que « le Programme international du Canada pour l’agriculture et l’alimentation (PICAA) est une composante essentielle pour que nos producteurs puissent saisir des occasions d’intégrer les marchés mondiaux hautement compétitifs ».

La division Races et Industrie de Canada Hippique est une «alliance » nationale d’associations de races de chevaux et de différents membres du milieu. Elle offre une  tribune nationale à ses adhérents pour les échanges d’informations avec Canada Hippique, divers intervenants canadiens, le gouvernement du Canada, et d’autres instances étrangères. La division travaille à  appliquer des politiques au plan de la santé équine et du développement de l’industrie et ce, en visant un accroissement de la rentabilité à long terme du secteur équin canadien. 

Canada Hippique est une association à but non lucratif formée de membres, dont la mission est de représenter, promouvoir et offrir des services à l’ensemble de la collectivité et de l’industrie équine canadienne. Ses sphères d’activités principales sont le sport, la santé et le bien-être du cheval, l’éducation et la sécurité, la gouvernance et le marketing, la représentation et la communication. Canada Hippique est reconnue auprès de Sport Canada, Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, la Fédération équestre internationale, le Comité olympique canadien, et l’Association canadienne des entraîneurs, comme étant l’organisme national représentant les sports équestres et les intérêts équins au Canada. Veuillez visiter le equinecanada.ca.

Communiquez avec Susan Stewart, coordonnatrice de la division Races et Industrie de Canada Hippique, Développement des marchés d’exportation, pour obtenir un complément d’information. Vous pouvez la joindre en composant le 613 826-1155 ou sur son cellulaire au  613 286-9394, ou encore en lui transmettant un courriel à l’adresse suivante : sstewart@equinecanada.caCet e-mail est protégé contre les robots collecteurs de mails, votre navigateur doit accepter le Javascript pour le voir .

 - 30 -


Photo jointe: De la gauche à la droite - Al Patterson, MP Mr. Lee Richardson, Kim Berlie, Lisa Carlsen, Lance Griffin, Susan Stewart
Crédit photo: Cansport